Scout Advancement

BSA Mission Statement

"The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to prepare young people to make ethical choices

over their lifetime by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law."

How It's DoneBoy Scouting is a program of the Boy Scouts of America.  It is available to boys under the age of 18 who meet any of the following qualifications:

• boys at least 10 years old who have earned the Arrow of Light; or

• boys at least 10 years old who have completed the fifth grade; or

• boys who are at least 11 years old.

Prior participation in Cub Scouting is not required.

The Boy Scout program is designed to develop a boy's character, citizenship, and personal fitness using the following methods: a structured advancement program, high ideals, the patrol method, outdoor activities, adult association, personal growth, leadership development, and uniforming. This program and development structure is referred to as the Aims and Methods of Scouting.

Boy Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. The Scout plans his advancement and progresses at his own pace as he meets each challenge, whether rank advancements, merit badges or positions of responsibility. The Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps him gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Boy Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.

When teaching skills, Scouts should us the EDGE method: Explain/Demonstrate/Guide/Enable.

BSA Guide to Advancement

Board of Review Guideline